What Happy and Unhappy couples Teach us

As a marriage therapist and counselor for nearly 20 years, I’ve talked with dozens of divorced couples who said, “If only I had known …. .”

The “If onlys” of couples dealing with divorce often include:

  • If only I had not used humor at the expense of my partner.
  • If only I had not interrupted or tried to dominate my partner.
  • If only we had not developed our own parallel lives.

In addition to the “If onlys” described above, Gottman researchers learned that happy couples shared these commonalities:

  • Partners expressed interest in each other’s world.
  • Partners were gentle during moments of conflict.

For More Information, visit this link: http://principleskills.com/blog/what-unhappy-and-happy-couples-teach-us

4 thoughts on “What Happy and Unhappy couples Teach us

Leave a comment